Author: ajcrou

19 May 1940

19 May 1940 At 04h00, six Hawker Hurricane Mk I took off from Moorsele for a patrol of the Cambrai -Le Cateau-Cambresis area. At 17h30, six aircraft patrol over Arras, while five patrol the road between Arras and Cambrai. A fight takes place, around 19h40, with about fifteen Bf 109 of 9./JG 26, in the…
Read more

16 September 1940

16 September 1940 Northern Front After a day of rest, Vickers Wellesley take off for further night attacks. Three aircrafts of No.47 (RAF) Squadron are sent to Asmara between 15h30 and 20h20. They are followed by three more of No.223 (RAF) Squadron and No.14 (RAF) Squadron on Gura, between 19h45 and 02h00. However, the weather…
Read more

15 September 1940

15 September 1940 Northern Front No.94 (RAF) Squadron knows a bit of action when Squadron Leader William T.F. Wightman (L9047) takes off at 12h25 for the usual patrol over the port of Aden. At 13j25, he receives order to go to Steamer Point where an unidentified aircraft is reported. The latter turns to be a…
Read more

14 September 1940

14 September 1940 Northern Front The Vickers Wellesley continue to attack Gura Airfield between 19h00 and 00h00, with five aircrafts of No. 14 (RAF) Squadron (only two on the target), three from No.47 (RAF) Squadron (one on Massawa) and five of No. 223 (RAF) Squadron (one is forced to cancel due to technical problems and…
Read more

13 September 1940

13 September 1940 Northern Front The Vickers Wellesley are active in Sudan and two aircrafts from each of Squadrons are sent to attack Gura in the evening, between 17h30 and 19h30 [1]. We can, however, question the actual results of these bombardments carried by one aircraft, at medium altitude and at night in unsuitable aircraft,…
Read more

12 September 1940

12 September 1940 Northern Front Three Bristol Blenheim Mk I’s of No. 11 (RAF) Squadron are sent to attack the jetties at Assab harbor. Despite strong air defense, crews reports indicate that all bombs have fallen on the target[1]. Southern Front The day is more active in the south because after a few days’ break…
Read more

11 Septembre 1940

11 September 1940 Northern Front A large-scale operation was organized in Sudan in the evening, bringing together aircraft of No.14, 45, 47 and 223 (RAF) Squadron to target the airfield of Gura. However, the weather conditions are very difficult when the aircraft arrive over the Eritrean mountains. Unable to spot the target, some bombers dropped…
Read more

10 September 1940

10 Septembre 1940 Northern Front In the night, British troops launch an attack on Fort Kassala. No. 14 (RAF) Squadron sends, at 11h15, three Vickers Wellesley in support. They are intercepted shortly after by two Fiat CR.42. The Vickers Wellesley K7763 (James A. Ferguson Pilot Officer, James Lynch Pilot Officer [1], Sergeant Thomas Conway [2])…
Read more

9 September 1940

9 September 1940 Northern Front After a stop, the night before, at Ras Ara, four Bristol Blenheim of No. 11 and No.39 (RAF) Squadron (one [1] and three) took off at 05h55  to bomb the airfield of Dessie in Ethiopia. They are welcomed on the spot by two Fiat CR.32 of the 411a Squadriglia CT,…
Read more

18 May 1940

18 May 1940 Unfortunately, there is no concrete detail on the events of this day. At most, the ORB indicates the preparation of an escort mission, for the benefit of Bristol Blenheim at 04h00, which is canceled; while Brian Cull [1] mentions a brief confrontation with Heinkel He.111 of KG 1 without further details. [1]…
Read more

Auteur : ajcrou

16 Septembre 1940

16 Septembre 1940 Front Nord Après une journée de repos, les Vickers Wellesley décollent pour effectuer de nouvelles attaques de nuit. Trois appareils du No.47 (RAF) Squadron sont envoyés sur Asmara, entre 15h30 et 20h20. Ils sont suivis par trois autres des No.223 (RAF) Squadron et No.14 (RAF) Squadron sur Gura, entre 19h45 et 02h00.…
Lire la suite

15 Septembre 1940

15 Septembre 1940 Front Nord Le No.94 (RAF) Squadron connait un peu d’action, lorsque le Squadron Leader William T.F. Wightman (L9047) décolle, à 12h25, pour la patrouille habituelle au-dessus du port d’Aden. À 13h25, il reçoit l’ordre par radio de se diriger vers Steamer Point où un appareil non identifié est signalé. Ce dernier s’avère…
Lire la suite

14 Septembre 1940

14 Septembre 1940 Front Nord Les Vickers Wellesley continuent à attaquer l’aérodrome de Gura, entre 19h00 et 00h00, avec cinq appareils du No. 14 (RAF) Squadron (seulement deux arrivent sur la cible), trois du No.47 (RAF) Squadron (un doit se dérouter sur Massawa) et cinq du No. 223 (RAF) Squadron (l’un est contraint à annuler…
Lire la suite

13 Septembre 1940

13 Septembre 1940 Front Nord Les Vickers Wellesley retrouvent un semblant d’activités au Soudan puisque deux appareils de chacun des trois Squadrons sont envoyés attaquer Gura en début de soirée, entre 17h30 et 19h30[1]. On peut, toutefois, s’interroger sur les résultats réels de ces bombardements effectués isolément, à moyenne altitude et de nuit dans des…
Lire la suite

12 Septembre 1940

12 Septembre 1940 Front Nord Trois Bristol Blenheim Mk I du No. 11 (RAF) Squadron sont envoyés attaquer les jetées du port d’Assab. Malgré une forte défense antiaérienne, les rapports de missions signalent que toutes les bombes sont tombées sur l’objectif[1]. Front Sud La journée est plus active au sud puisque après une pause de…
Lire la suite

11 Septembre 1940

11 Septembre 1940 Front Nord Une opération d’envergure est organisée au Soudan, dans la soirée, en réunissant des appareils des No.14, 45, 47 et 223 (RAF) Squadron afin de viser l’aérodrome de Gura. Cependant, les conditions météorologiques s’avèrent très difficiles lorsque les appareils arrivent au-dessus des montagnes érythréenne. Dans l’impossibilité de repérer la cible, certains…
Lire la suite

10 Septembre 1940

10 Septembre 1940 Front Nord Dans la nuit, les troupes britanniques lancent une attaque contre le fort de Kassala. Le No. 14 (RAF) Squadron envoie, à 11h15, trois Vickers Wellesley en soutien. Ils sont interceptés peu après par deux Fiat CR.42. Le Vickers Wellesley K7763 (Pilot Officer James A. Ferguson ; Pilot Officer James Lynch[1] ; Sergeant…
Lire la suite

9 Septembre 1940

9 Septembre 1940 Front Nord Après une escale, la veille au soir, à Ras Ara, quatre Bristol Blenheim des No.11 et No.39 (RAF) Squadron (un[1] et trois) décollent à 5h55 pour bombarder l’aérodrome de Dessie en Éthiopie. Ils sont accueillis sur place par deux Fiat CR.32 de la 411a Squadriglia CT. Si les documents britanniques…
Lire la suite

8 Septembre 1940

8 Septembre 1940 Front Nord En cette journée, l’escadrille d’Aden connait un drame lorsque le Glenn Marin 167-F n°82 (Flight Lieutnant Roger Ritoux-Lachaud[1] ; Flying Officer Pierre Fenaux de Maismont ; Flight Sergeant Raymond Rolland[2] et Emile Lobato de Faria[3]) est envoyé en reconnaissance sur la ligne de train Djibouti – Addis-Ababa. Alors que l’appareil effectue plusieurs…
Lire la suite

7 Septembre 1940

7 Septembre 1940 Front Nord Pour une fois, le No.430 (RAF) Flight fait les gros titres lorsqu’un Vickers Vincent (un second est endommagé au décollage) et deux Gloster Gauntlet décollent d’Azzoza, à 11h20, pour attaquer le terrain de Metemma. Après le bombardement à 13h05, un Caproni Ca.133 est aperçu par le Flight Lieutenant A.B. Mitchell…
Lire la suite