Author: ajcrou

17 July 1940

17 July 1940 No.615 Squadron returns to Kenley at 13:30. However, Squadron Leader Joseph R. Kayll (P3109) and Pilot Officer Petrus H. Hugo (P2963) must take off on alert (11:45 – 12:30) to intercept an intruder between Kenley and Beachy Head.[1] This one turns out to be a Dornier Do.17, which is attacked by Pilot…
Read more

2 December 1940

2 December 1940 Northern Front The K (RAF) Flight receives three additional Gloster Gladiators, namely N5629, N5896 and N5917, they are accompanied by a new pilot, Pilot Officer Alan Tofield. They will be followed on 4 December by N5833 and N5895. At the same time, Flying Officer Rovert H. Chapman and Pilot Officer Gordon A.…
Read more

16 July 1940

16 July 1940 The day is relatively calm due to the bad weather. However, No.615 Squadron underwent several changes: Herbert S. Giddings is promoted to the rank of Flight Lieutenant (retroactive to 6 June) and three new pilots joined the squadron. Pilot Officer John Arthur Peter McClintock (91064) is born on 25 April 1920 in…
Read more

1st December 1940

1st Décembre 1940 The French attached to No.8 (RAF) Squadron continued their flights aboard Glenn-Martin 167F No.102 (Flight Lieutenant Jacques Dodelier, Warrant Officer Yves Trécan, Flight Sergeant Ronan Michel and Flight Sergeant Joseph Portalis [1]) with a reconnaissance of the sector: Assab – Barasoh – Edd – Thio – Meder, between 08:00 and 11:35. [2]…
Read more

15 July 1940

15 July 1940 Flying Officer Anthony Phillip Gray joins No.615 Squadron as a reinforcement where he is assigned to A Flight. He was born on 9th November 1912 in Maidenhead (Berkshire, England) where he was educated at the Dragon School (Oxford) and the Uppingham School (Rutland). After a year’s study in France (Paris) where he…
Read more

30 November 1940

30 November 1940 Northern Front The day before, three Gloster Gauntlets of No.430 (RAF) Flight (Flying Officer James E. Divent, Pilot Officer Arthur N.W. Johnstone and Reeves) land on Azaza airfield. During the day, they are tasked with carrying out three ground attack missions against Italian troops in the Coma – Wahni sector (along the…
Read more

14 July 1940

14 July 1940 No.615 Squadron joined Hawkinge airfield with 13 aircraft at 13h00 to provide protection for the CW.5 sea convoy off Dover. Unfortunately the ships are also the target of the Luftwaffe. Forty Junkers Ju.87B of IV/LG 1, escorted by Bf 109E of 8/JG 3, are in charge of the attack, while II/JG 51…
Read more

29 November 1940

29 November 1940 Northern Front The Wellesleys made twelve sorties to bomb Danghila (Ethiopia) between 08:10 and 12:15 hours : seven Wellesleys of No.47 (RAF) Squadron (five from Khartoum and two from Sennar) and five of No.223 (RAF) Squadron. One of the latter, however, is forced to make a forced landing after take-off due to…
Read more

12 July 1940

12 July 1940 Twelve aircraft take off between 15:45 and 16:20 for a new patrol, again without any particular event. Pilots and Aircrafts : Flight Lieutenant James G. Sanders (P2801) ; Pilot Officer Keith T. Lofts (P3111) ; Pilot Officer David Evans (P2578[1]) ; Pilot Officer Ralph Roberts (N2479[2]) ; Flying Officer Anthony Eyre (L1829) ;…
Read more

27 November 1940

27 November 1940 Northern Front The Hawker Hardy K4311 (Flying Officer Paul A. Holdengarde; Sergeant Alan P. Burl) takes off for a reconnaissance of the Gallabat – Metemma sector. Above, they are intercepted at around 05h45 by two Fiat CR.42s of 412a Squadriglia CT. Machine gunner Alan P. Burl is killed, while the aircraft is…
Read more

Auteur : ajcrou

4 Décembre 1940

4 Décembre 1940 Front Nord Le Bristol Blenheim MK IV R2770 (Flying Officer Thomas G. Rhodes, Sergeant Maurice E.F. Hitchin et Sidney C. Lewis), du No.14 (RAF) Squadron, décolle à 4 h 30 pour effectuer une mission de reconnaissance de la zone Danas — Dambe Wadi. En vue de la prochaine offensive de début 1941, l’unité est désormais chargée de procéder…
Lire la suite

18 Juillet 1940

18 Juillet 1940 Douze Hawker Hurricane[1] décollent en direction de Hawkinge pour escorter, en collaboration avec douze autres du No.111 (RAF) Squadron[2], dix-huit Bristol Blenheim chargés d’un bombardement du port Boulogne-sur-Mer entre 18h20 et 19h25. Selon Brian Cull : « Neuf autres Bristol Blenheim du No.2 (RAF) Group, escortés par une vingtaine, de chasseurs attaquent Boulogne-sur-Mer…
Lire la suite

3 Décembre 1940

3 Décembre 1940 Front Nord Cinq Gloster Gladiator (Captain Garald J. le Mesurier, Lieutenant John L Hewitson, Robin Pare, Servaas de Kock Viljoen et Leonard le Clues Theron) décollent de Azaza, à 10 h 45. Le Lieutenant Leonard le Clues Theron est, cependant, rapidement contraint de devoir rentrer à Azaza à la suite de problèmes moteurs. Ils retrouvent peu après…
Lire la suite

17 Juillet 1940

17 Juillet 1940 Le No.615 Squadron est de retour, à 13h30, sur la base aérienne de Kenley. Toutefois les Squadron Leader Joseph R. Kayll (P3109) et le Pilot Officer Petrus H. Hugo (P2963) doivent décoller, au préalable (11h45 – 12h30) sur alerte afin d’intercepter un intrus entre Kenley et Beachy Head[1]. Celui-ci s’avère être un…
Lire la suite

2 Décembre 1940

2 Décembre 1940 Front Nord Le K (RAF) Flight reçoit trois Gloster Gladiator supplémentaires, en l’occurrence les N5629, N5896 et N5917, ils sont accompagnés par un nouveau pilote le Pilot Officer Alan Tofield. Ils seront suivis, le 4 décembre, par les N5833 et N5895. Dans le même temps, les Flying Officer Rovert H. Chapman et Pilot Officer…
Lire la suite

16 Juillet 1940

16 Juillet 1940 La journée est relativement calme en raison du mauvais temps qui bloque les pilotes à Hawkinge. Le No.615 Squadron connait toutefois plusieurs changements : d’une part, Herbert S. Giddings est promu au grade de Flight Lieutenant (avec effet rétroactif au 6 juin) et, d’autre part, trois nouveaux pilotes rejoignent les rangs de l’escadron.…
Lire la suite

1er Décembre 1940

1er Décembre 1940 Les Français rattachés au No.8 (RAF) Squadron continue leurs vols à bord du Glenn-Martin 167F n° 102 (Flight Lieutenant Jacques Dodelier, Warrant Officer Yves Trécan, Flight Sergeant Ronan Michel et Flight Sergeant Joseph Portalis[1]) avec une reconnaissance du secteur : Assab – Barasoh – Edd – Thio – Meder, entre 8 h et 11…
Lire la suite

15 Juillet 1940

15 Juillet 1940 Le Flying Officer Anthony Phillip Gray rejoint le No.615 Squadron en renfort où il est affecté au A Flight. Né le 9 novembre 1912 à Maidenhead (Berkshire, Angleterre) où il est éduqué à la Dragon School (Oxford) et à la Uppingham School (Rutland). Après une année d’étude en France (Paris) où il…
Lire la suite

30 Novembre 1940

30 Novembre 1940 Front Nord La veille, trois Gloster Gauntlet du No.430 (RAF) Flight (Flying Officer James E. Dennent, Pilot Officer Arthur N.W. Johnstone et Reeves) atterrissent sur le terrain d’Azaza. Ils sont chargés, durant la journée d’effectuer trois missions d’attaque au sol contre des troupes italiennes dans le secteur Coma – Wahni (le long de la…
Lire la suite

14 Juillet 1940

14 Juillet 1940 Le No.615 Squadron rejoint l’aérodrome de Hawkinge avec treize appareils à 13h00 afin d’assurer la protection du convoi maritime CW.5 au large de Dover. Malheureusement les navires sont aussi la cible de la Luftwaffe. Quarante Junkers Ju.87B du IV./LG 1, escortés par des Bf 109E de la 8./JG 3, sont chargés de…
Lire la suite