Author: ajcrou

24 September 1940

24 September 1940 Northern Front An attack by Savoia-Marchetti SM.79 was reported on Aden at 12h45 when a fight broke out between an Italian bomber and a Gloster Gladiator of No.94 (RAF) Squadron. This is claimed by the Italians, but Pilot Officer Frank M. Stephenson lands unscathed with his Gloster Gladiator Mk I N2283 [1].…
Read more

11 June 1940

11 June 1940 Nine Hawker Hurricanes take off from Kenley at 13h30 for an offensive patrol over the Fécamp – Le Tréport sector with the No.111 (RAF) Squadron [1]. A German formation was encountered shortly after and during the ensuing fight, Flying Officer Anthony Eyre claimed two Bf.109, one of which was probable, about 8…
Read more

23 September 1940

23 Septembre 1940 Southern Front According to South African documents, an Italian bomber attacks and drops three bombs on the airfield of Wajir at dawn (01h45). Unfortunately, without further details. At the same time, two or three Caproni Ca.133 (31 bis Gruppo BT ?) are reported over Buna where a local is killed, as well…
Read more

10 June 1940

10 June 1940 Nine planes take off from Kenley, at 11h15, to reach Tangmere. They leave at 14h00 for a new offensive patrol over France. This time, it is the Fécamp – Abbeville – Dieppe – Le Tréport sector. The pilots return to Kenley at 15h30. Unlike previous days, German aircraft are reported, but the…
Read more

22 September 1940

22 September 1940 Northern Front The end of September is marked by the gradual arrival and deployment of Major-General Lewis Heath’s 5th Indian Division in Sudan. This event leads to transfers within the No.1 (SAAF) Squadron. Thus, a first detachment of two Gladiator Gladiators (including Lieutenant Robin Pare) is sent to Atbara (midway along the…
Read more

21 September 1940

21 September 1940 Northern Front During a nighttime bombardment of Gura and Asmara, the Vickers Wellesley K8530 (Flight Sergeant Bathe; Sergeant Naismith) was intercepted, around 11h36, northeast of Massawa. A short confrontation ensued for four minutes between the bomber and two aircraft identified by the crew as Fiat CR.42[1]. Southern Front Following SAAF’s recent bombardments,…
Read more

9 June 1940

9 June 1940 As on the previous day, nine pilots left Kenley at 10h15 to join Tangmere in order to carry out an offensive patrol, in company with No.111 and 601 (RAF) Squadron, above the Le Tréport – Aumale – Poix sector (12h00 – 13h30). Again, one of the Hawker Hurricanes (Flight Lieutenant James G.…
Read more

20 September 1940

20 September 1940 Northern Front After being announced for several weeks, the first three Blenheim Mk IVs were delivered to No.14 (RAF) Squadron on 14 September 1940 in Port Sudan. These three Bristol Blenheim Mk IVs (R3899, T2057 and T2061) of No.14 (RAF) Squadron come into action during a bombardment on Massawa between 11h35 and…
Read more

8 June 1940

8 june 1940 : back over France After a short period of reorganization, the No. 615 Squadron was quickly returned to operation over France. Nine Hawker Hurricane Mk I take off from Kenley in the direction of Hawkinge at 09h45. After the necessary preparations, the formation take off, at 12h50, with No.111 (RAF) Squadron for…
Read more

19 September 1940

19 September 1940 Northern Front The Bristol Blenheims return, again, to Dire Dawa with two aircrafts of No.8 (RAF) Squadron, two of No.11 (RAF) Squadron and two of No.39 (RAF) Squadron. The bombardment is done between 01h30 and 06h35 and specifically aims the hangar of Ala Littoria.[1] On their side, the Italians send five Savoia-Marchetti…
Read more

Auteur : ajcrou

24 Septembre 1940

24 Septembre 1940 Front Nord Une attaque, par des Savoia-Marchetti SM.79, est signalée sur Aden à 12h45 où un affrontement éclate entre un bombardier italien et un Gloster Gladiator du No.94 (RAF) Squadron. Celui-ci est revendiqué par les Italiens, mais le Pilot Officer Frank M. Stephenson se pose indemne avec son Gloster Gladiator Mk I…
Lire la suite

11 Juin 1940

11 Juin 1940 Neuf Hawker Hurricane décollent de Kenley, à 13h30, pour effectuer une patrouille offensive au-dessus du secteur Fécamp – Le Tréport en compagnie du No.111 (RAF) Squadron[1]. Une formation allemande est rencontrée peu après et durant le combat qui s’en suit le Flying Officer Anthony Eyre revendique deux Bf.109, dont un probable, à environ…
Lire la suite

23 Septembre 1940

23 Septembre 1940 Front Sud Selon les documents sud-africains, un bombardier italien attaque et largue trois bombes sur le terrain de Wajir à l’aube (01h45). Malheureusement, sans plus de précisions. Dans le même temps, deux ou trois Ca.133 (31 bis Gruppo BT ?) sont signalés sur Buna où un membre du personnel local est tué, ainsi…
Lire la suite

10 Juin 1940

10 Juin 1940 Neuf appareils décollent de Kenley, à 11h15, pour rejoindre Tangmere. Ils en repartent, à 14h00, pour une nouvelle patrouille offensive au-dessus de la France. Cette fois-ci, il s’agit du secteur Fécamp – Abbeville – Dieppe – Le Tréport. Les pilotes rentrent, sur Kenley, à 15h30. Contrairement aux journées précédentes, des appareils allemands…
Lire la suite

22 Septembre 1940

22 Septembre 1940 Front Nord La fin du mois de septembre est marquée par l’arrivée progressive et le déploiement de la 5th Indian Division du Major-General Lewis Heath au Soudan. Cet événement conduit à des transferts au sein du No.1 (SAAF) Squadron. Ainsi, un premier détachement de deux Gloster Gladiator (dont le Lieutnant Robin Pare)…
Lire la suite

21 Septembre 1940

21 Septembre 1940 Front Nord Lors d’un bombardement nocturne sur Gura et Asmara, le Vickers Wellesley K8530 (Flight Sergeant Bathe ; Sergeant Naismith) est intercepté, vers 23h36, au nord-est de Massawa. Un court affrontement s’engage pendant quatre minutes entre le bombardier et deux appareils identifiés, par l’équipage, comme des Fiat CR.42[1]. Front Sud À la…
Lire la suite

9 Juin 1940

9 Juin 1940 Comme la veille, neuf pilotes quitte Kenley, à 10h15, pour rejoindre Tangmere afin d’effectuer une patrouille offensive, en compagne des No.111 et 601 (RAF) Squadron, au-dessus secteur Le Tréport – Aumale – Poix (12h00 – 13h30). Là encore, un des Hawker Hurricane (Flight Lieutenant James G. Sanders – P3487) doit abandonner la…
Lire la suite

20 Septembre 1940

20 Septembre 1940 Front Nord Après avoir été annoncés pendant plusieurs semaines, les trois premiers Blenheim Mk IV sont livrés au No.14 (RAF) Squadron, le 14 septembre 1940, à Port Soudan. Ces trois Bristol Blenheim Mk IV (R3899, T2057 et T2061) du No.14 (RAF) Squadron entrent en action à l’occasion d’un bombardement sur Massawa entre 11 h 35…
Lire la suite

8 Juin 1940

8 juin 1940 : retour au-dessus de la France Après une courte période de réorganisation, le No.615 Squadron est rapidement renvoyé en opération au-dessus de la France. Ainsi, neuf Hawker Hurricane Mk I décollent depuis Kenley en direction de Hawkinge à 09h45. Après les préparations nécessaires, la formation reprend l’air, à 12h50, en compagnie du…
Lire la suite

19 Septembre 1940

19 Septembre 1940 Front Nord Les Bristol Blenheim retournent encore sur Dire Dawa avec deux appareils du No.8 (RAF) Squadron, deux du No.11 (RAF) Squadron et deux du No.39 (RAF) Squadron. Le bombardement, mené entre 01h30 et 06h35, vise encore les mêmes cibles et plus particulièrement le hangar de Ala Littoria.[1] De leurs côtés, les Italiens envoient…
Lire la suite